MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Climbing | Gletschhorn | South Ridge *****

10 SL | 380m | 4b (4a obl)

Kuntze, Lochmatter 1907, refurbished Arnold 94


Climbing in the basin of Tiefengletscher is not for free. If you want to climb the Gletschhorn south ridge, a tour on the very rewarding Dammazwilingen or the Gletschhorn Sporn, you have to take a 2.5h long but scenic approach. Once this is done, you will be rewarded several times: with the alpine setting on the one hand, the proud Galenstock and the unfortunately dwindling but still impressive glacier to the side. And on the other hand with a granite of the highest quality. The coarse-grained, rough granite from Uri on the Gletschhorn Südgrat is just fantastic. Classic ridge climbing on grippy cracks, flakes and slabs. The ridge is ideal for climbing with heavy shoes. In addition, the Gletschhorn Südgrat is well equipped with new material for a classic ridge. Slings and cams are also easy to use. The line mostly and obviously follows the ridge. Only the branch in the sixth length could be missed. After 10 pitches, a wonderful view of the Dammakette, the Salbitschijen and other Urner peaks opens up from the summit. The descent then requires further concentration over the alpine gravel and block terrain before you can tackle the descent into the valley, certainly with a satisfied  mind.

In short: a wonderful, classic ridge climb that is not without reason counted among the highlights of the Uri Alps by the local mountain guides.

Approach Gletschhorn Southridge

 

By Postbus to the Hotel Tiefenbach or by car to the Tätsch (7.- fee). Then follow the hiking trail towards Albert-Heim-Hütte. In early summer with good snow conditions, the approach over the glacier is usually preferable, alternatively along the trail and cairns that lead north from point 2765, see map. The last 150 meters in altitude lead first over rocky slabs and gullies with easy scrambling sections and over a steep piece of firn, which depending on the conditions requires the use of crampons.

 

Descent Gletschhorn Südgrat

 

Rappel or downclimb 20m from the summit. Then you head for the mighty pile of boulders in the fallline, which forms a flat platform. Descend to the left of this over gravelly terrain, partially marked in blue to the abseiling points, via which you can get back to the snow field in 3x20m. Within good firn conditions go orographically to the right under the spur, otherwise descend the path known from the ascent over the rock slabs.

Topo Gletschhorn Südgrat

 

L1 The starting point is obvious (E 676551 N 163433). The first pitch already reveals the character of the whole route: great climbing, obvious lines almost always along the ridge, bomb-proof, large-grip granite. Belay stations on solid, mostly steel rings.

 

L2 Like the first length, always on the ridge.

 

L3 A little more demanding than the previous two pitches on shallow cracks, but no less beautiful.

 

L4 The most difficult length of the route asks for crack climbing technique. If you manage to get your feet stuck in the crack, the pitch is almost in your pocket. All others might leave some strength and nerves behind or pull on one of the 5 bolts. Very nice length, about 4b.

 

L5 ridge climbing and then easy scrambling. Belay to the right on a grassy belt.

 

L6 From the belay, climb a few meters onto the platform, then cross a few meters to the left and climb up the slab on the right, a difficult-to-spot bolt shows the way. The official route does not follow the dihedral in which one is drawn spontaneously. However, the latter is only slightly more difficult.

 

L7 Follow the dihedral, then straight up in steep and extremely grippy climbing. Bela on bolts with a chain.

 

L8 slab climbing, then follow along the flat ridge. Many bolts. A short downclimbing section leads to the bleay.

 

L9 The pitch starts easily and then leads in great and exposed climbing over the fantastic ridge. WOW!

 

L10 Technically demanding section around the corner, well secured with a bolt. Then just along the ridge.

 

 

 

Beauty : ***** / *****

Protection : x / XXXXX new material, can usually be supplemented well

Exposure : south

Material : 50m rope, 5 quickdraws, 2-3 cams (0.5-2 and larger can be used), slings

 

Times Gletschhorn South Ridge

Approach: 2.5h from Tätsch, 1.5h from Albert-Heim-Hütte

Climbing time: 3-4 hours

Descent until the end of rappelling: 1h

Descent, end of rappelling to Tätsch: 1.5-2h

 

   

Book Gletschhorn Southridge

 

Would you like to climb the Gletschhorn over its south ridge or undertake another mountain tour? To book us, you have 2 Options.

 

Option 1 | book mybergtour group

Subscribe to our Tour Mail. Whenever ideal conditions come up, we post climbing tours on mybergtour.ch. You will be informed by email and can register online.

 

Your advantages: You will be offered exactly those tours that are in best conditions and you can decide at short notice.

 

Costs from CHF 490.- per person and day

Max. 2 persons

Option 1 | Book privately

Here you are the boss. You determine both the date and the tour. We are looking for a guide for you and soon you can start.

 

Your advantages: You can freely choose the tour and the date and go to the mountains with your friends.

 

Costs from CHF 650.- per day

 

 

 

You might also be interested in:

Gross Furkahorn | Mittagflue | Bergseeschijen |

 

Keywords: climbing, mountaineering, Furka, Gletschhorn South Ridge, mountain guide

 

 

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon

MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Klettern | Gletschhorn | Südgrat *****

10 SL | 380m | 4b (4a obl)

Kuntze, Lochmatter 1907, saniert Arnold 94


Die Kletterei im Tiefengletscherkessel ist nicht ganz gratis zu haben. Wer den Gletschhorn Südgrat, eine Tour an den mindestens so lohnenden Dammazwilingen oder am Gletschhorn Sporn klettern will, muss einen 2.5h langen, landschaftlich jedoch reizenden Zustieg auf sich nehmen. Ist dieser geschafft, wird man mehrfach belohnt: mit dem alpinen Ambiente einerseits, dem stolzen Galenstock und dem leider schwindenden aber immer noch eindrücklichen Tiefengletscher zur Seite. Und mit einem Granit allerhöchster Güte andererseits. Der grobkörnige, rauhe Urner Granit am Gletschhorn Südgrat klettert sich grossartig. Klassische Gratkletterei an griffigen Rissen, Schuppen, Zacken und Platten. Der Grat eignet sich bestens zum Klettern mit den schweren Schuhen. Zudem ist der Gletschhorn Südgrat für einen klassischen Grat gut ausgerüstet mit neuwertigem Material. Zackenschlingen und auch Cams sind zusätzlich einfach einsetzbar. Die Linie verläuft offensichtlich, meist dem Grat entlang. Einzig den Abzweiger in der sechsten Länge könnte man verpassen. Nach den 10 Seillängen eröffnet sich vom Gipfel ein wunderbarer Blick auf die Dammakette, den Salbitschijen und weitere Urner Gipfel. Der Abstieg erfordert dann nochmals Konzentration über das alpine Schotter- und Blockgelände, bevor man mit einem ganz bestimmt zufriedenen Gemüt den Abstieg ins Tal angehen kann.

Kurz: eine wunderschöne, klassische Gratttour, die von den lokalen Bergführern nicht umsonst zu den Highlights der Urner Alpen gezählt wird.

Zustieg Gletschhorn Südgrat

Mit dem Postauto zum Hotel Tiefenbach oder mit dem dem Auto bis zum Tätsch (7.- Gebühr). Anschliessend dem Wanderweg in Richtung Albert-Heim-Hütte folgen. Im Frühjahr bei guter Firnlage ist der Zustieg über den Tiefengletscher meist vorzuziehen, alternativ entlang den Wegspuren und Steinmännchen, die nördlich von Punkt 2765 durchführen, siehe Karte. Die letzten 150 Höhenmeter führen zuerst über Felsplatten und Rinnen mit ersten einfachen Kletterstellen und über ein steiles Firnstück, welches je nach Verhältnissen den Einsatz von Steigeisen erfordert. 

 

Abstieg Gletschhorn Südgrat

Vom Gipfel 20m abseilen oder abklettern. Danach steuert man den mächtigen Blockhaufen in der Fallline an, welcher eine ebene Plattform bildet. Links an diesem über schottriges Gelände absteigen, teilweise blau markiert zu den Abseilstellen, über welche man in 3x20m zurück zum Schneefeld gelangt. Bei guter Firnlage orografisch rechts unter dem Sporn, ansonsten dem vom Aufstieg her bekannten Weg über die Felsplatten absteigen.

Topo Gletschhorn Südgrat

 

L1 Der Einstieg ist offensichtlich (E 676551 N 163433). Die erste Länge zeigt bereits den Charakter der ganzen Tour auf: grossartige Kletterei, offensichtliche Linienführung fast immer dem Grat entlang, bombenfester, grossgriffiger Granit. Stand an soliden, meist einbetonierten Stahlringen. 

 

L2 Wie die erste Länge, stets dem Grat nach.

 

L3 Etwas anspruchsvoller als die vorigen beiden Längen an seichten Rissrillen, jedoch nicht minder schön. Kettenstand.

 

L4 Die schwierigste Länge der Tour erfordert Rissklettertechnik. Wem es gelingt, die Füsse im Riss zu verklemmen, hat die Länge bereits fast im Sack. Alle anderen dürften hier einiges an Kraft und Nerven liegen lassen oder an einem der 5 Haken ziehen. Sehr schöne Länge, ca 4b.

 

L5 Gratkletterei und dann Gehgelände. Stand rechts auf Grasband.

 

L6 Vom Stand wenige Klettermeter auf das Podest hoch, danach einige Meter nach links queren und rechts die Platte hochklettern, ein schwierig zu erkennender Bohrhaken weist den Weg. Die offizielle Route folgt nicht der Verschneidung, in welche es einen spontan zieht. Letztere ist jedoch nur unwesentlich schwieriger.

 

L7 Der Verschneidung folgen, danach gerade hoch in steiler und äusserst griffiger Kletterei. Stand an Bohrhaken mit Kette. 

 

L8 Plattenstelle, danach alles dem flachen Grat entlang. Viele Bohrhaken. Eine kurze Abkletterstelle führt zum Stand (Klebe- plus Bohrhaken).

 

L9 Die Länge startet einfach und führt anschliessend in grossartiger und exponierter Kletterei über die fantastische Gratkante. WOW!

 

L10 Technisch anspruchsvolle Stelle ums Eck, mit Bohrhaken gut gesichert. Danach einfach über den Grat.  

Schönheit: *****/*****

Absicherung: x/XXXXX neues Material, kann meist gut ergänzt werden

Exposition: Süd

Material: 50m Seil, 5 Echsen, 2-3 Cams (0.5-2 und grösser einsetzbar), Schlingen

Zeiten Gletschhorn Südgrat

Zustieg: 2.5h ab Tätsch, 1.5h ab Albert-Heim-Hütte

Kletterzeit: 3-4h

Abstieg Gipfel bis Ende Abseilen: 1h

Abstieg Ende Abseilen bis Tätsch: 1.5-2h

Möchtest du eine Klettertour unternehmen? Frage hier für einen privaten Termin mit Bergführer an oder abonniere unsere Tourenmail und erfahre, wann wir eine Klettertour anbieten.

   

jetzt

Tourenmail 

abonnieren

   

Das könnte dich auch interessieren: 

Gross Furkahorn | Mittagflue | Bergseeschijen

Schlüsselwörter: Klettern, Bergsteigen, Gletschhorn Südgrat, Bergführer, Mountain Guide

   

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon