MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Climbing Mittagflue

Fun climbing. Grippy rock. Easy grades.

 

The impressive wall of Mittagflue stands proudly above Guttannen and dominates the lower Haslital with its up to 400m mighty rock face. The Mittagflue offers a variety of extremely rewarding routes in the lower difficulties from 4c to 5c on its south face. Such generously structured and lavishly grippy rock is rarely found, especially not in the Grimsel area. Hands and feet almost always find hold on theses walls. The climbing correspondingly is straight forward and really enjoyable. Thanks to these qualities, the Mittagflue is also suitable for climbers with little experience who want to gain experience in multi-pitch climbing, e.g. accompanied by a mountain guide. If you are looking for further generously structured routes, see also dr Blau Chäfer in Melchtal.

 

The rock quality is consistently very good. Nevertheless, pebbles and small stones can be found in the lower part. Therefore, a helmet is an absolute must and several rope teams on the same route are a potential danger. Towards the top, the size of the holds decreases somewhat and most routes have their most demanding pitches in the end.

 

The protection is good, mostly on solid, new material and the cruxes are usually well protected. Nevertheless, climbers should master the difficulties in order to be safe on this inclined terrain. A cam or wedge can be placed here and there, but the rock offers only limited possibilities.

 

In addition to all these good arguments for climbing at Mittagflue, there is also the fact that it is easy to get to in just 30 minutes from the parking lot. Taken together, this results in a first-class destination for simple multi-pitch routes, but also means many visitor especially on weekends, because Mittagflue is no longer an insider crag. On nice days, you either bring a little patience or set the alarm clock early enough to be among the first at the base of the wall.

Topo Mittagflue south wall

 

The routes on the south side are all very similar in character. They offer extremely rewarding, grippy climbing of about 10 pitches and are well protected (xxx/XXXXX). The south edge is a tick easier than its neighbors. The Mittagflue south wall gets sun in July from around 11am.

 

South Edge 11SL | 400m | 5a (4c obl) the easiest route in the wall. Very rewarding.

Durststrecke 9SL | 400m | 5b + (5b obl) grippy and extremely rewarding

Am Ueli sis Chueli 10SL | 400m | 5b (5a + obl) same as above

Heidi mier weidi beidi 9SL | 400m | 5b + (5b obl) same as above

Fritz u Franz im nüe Glanz 9SL | 400m | 5a + (5a obl) same as above

Loris Boxenstop 12SL | 400m | 5c + (5c obl)

 

 

Topo Mittagflue west wall

 

The three routes in the west wall are significantly steeper and therefore more demanding. Stabon follows a bold line and offers spectacularly steep climbing especially in the upper part. Formkurve offers beautiful, technically demanding wall climbing, almost continuously in grade 7a, whereby the third pitch in particular should not be underestimated. Formkurve shares the exceptionally steep final pitch (7a) with Abadia, which up to this point offers beautiful wall climbing in the the grade 5a-6b.

 

Stabon 12SL | 400m | 7b (6c obl) great climbing, bold line, spectacularly steep
Formkurve 9SL | 400m | 7a + (7a obl) demanding wall climbing, last lengths together with Abadia

Abadia 11SL | 400m | 7a (6b obl) wall climbing in the area 5a-6b, last pitch 7a

 

 

Mittagflue approach & descent

 

Approach | From the parking lot in 30 minutes to the base of the wall. In spring there is often a snow field on the last few meters, which can make good footwear or even an ice axe necessary.

 

Descent | Basically you can abseil down the south face, but we recommend you to descend by foot. This is due to the risk of rope jam and rock fall when pulling off the rope as well to the many rope teams that usually are found on this popular wall. The descent follows the obvious trail that starts off the last pitches, leads to the highest point and via several downclimbing and at the end abseiling sections back to the base. Some downclimbing sections are exposed and require full concentration again, but are well equipped with iron rods. At the end you abseil 3x25m and climb the last few meters again over iron rods. Unfortunately, the most important rods were bent by rockfall, which makes downclimbing more difficult. Alternatively, you can rappel a fourth time orographically to the right into the gully and climb down to the base (watch out for rockfall).

Book climbing tour Mittagflue

 

Do you want to climb at Mittagflue or another mountain? To book us, you have 2 Options.

 

 

Option 1 | book mybergtour group

Subscribe to our Tour Mail. Whenever ideal conditions come up, we post climbing tours on mybergtour.ch. You will be informed by email and can register online.

 

Your advantages: You will be offered exactly those tours that are in best conditions and you can decide at short notice.

 

Costs from CHF 390.- per person and day

Max. 2 persons

 

Option 2 | book privately

Here you are the boss. You determine both the date and the tour. We are looking for a guide for you and soon you can start.

 

Your advantages: You can freely choose the tour and the date and go to the mountains with your friends.

 

Costs from CHF 650.- per day

 

 

 

 

 

You might also be interested in:

Dr Blau Chäfer | Bergseeschijen | Furkahorn |

 

Keywords: Mittagflue, Grimsel, climbing, multi-pitch, topo, mountain guide

 

     

 

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon

MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Klettern an der Mittagflue

Genusskletterei an griffigstem Fels

Eindrücklich und stolz steht die Mittagflue ob Guttannen und dominiert mit ihrer bis zu 400m mächtigen Felswand das untere Haslital. Die Mittagflue bietet an ihrer geneigten Südwand eine Vielzahl von äusserst lohnenden Touren in den unteren Schwierigkeitsgraden von 4c bis 5c. Selten kriegt man einen derart grosszügig strukturierten und verschwenderisch griffigen Fels geboten wie hier, insbesondere nicht am Grimsel. Die Hände und Füsse finden an der Mittagsflue praktisch immer Halt an den zahlreich vorhandenen Leisten. Die Kletterei ist entsprechend eingängig und macht richtig Freude. Genusskletterei pur! Dank diesen Qualitäten bietet sich die Mittagflue auch für Kletterer mit wenig Erfahrung oder Hallenbackground an, die zB in Begleitung eines Bergführers Erfahrungen im Mehrseillängen Klettern sammeln wollen. Siehe hierzu auch dr Blau Chäfer im Melchtal.

Die Felsqualität ist durchwegs sehr gut. Trotzdem liegen im unteren Teil immer wieder Kiesel und kleine Steine loose herum. Daher ist ein Helm absolute Pflicht und mehrere Seilschaften in derselben Tour eine potentielle Gefahr. Nach oben hin nimmt die Grösse der Griffe etwas ab und die meisten Routen legen in den letzten Längen einen Zacken zu. 

Die Absicherung ist rundum gut, meist an solidem, neuwertigem Material und die Schlüsselstellen sind in der Regel gut gesichert. Dennoch sollte man die Schwierigkeiten beherrschen, um in diesem geneigten Gelände sicher unterwegs zu sein. Hier und dort kann auch ein Cam oder Keil gelegt werden, der Fels bietet hierzu jedoch nur beschränkte Möglichkeiten.

 

Nebst all diesen guten Argumenten für das Klettern an der Mittagflue kommt noch hinzu, dass der Einstieg in guten 30 Minuten ab Parkplatz bequem erreicht werden kann. Zusammengezählt ergibt dies eine erstklassige Destination für einfache Mehrseillängentouren, bedeutet jedoch auch reger Besuch an schönen Wochenenden, denn die Mittagflue ist lange kein Geheimtip mehr. An schönen Sommertagen bringt man also entweder etwas Geduld mit oder stellt den Wecker genügend früh, um unter den Ersten am Einstieg zu stehen.

Topo Mittagflue Südwand

 

Die Touren auf der Südseite sind vom Charakter her alle sehr ähnlich. Sie führen in äusserst lohnender, griffiger Genusskletterei über ca 10 Seillängen auf die Mittagflue und sind gut abgesichert (xxx/XXXXX). Dabei ist die Südkante einen Ticken einfacher als ihre Nachbarn. Die Mittagflue Südwand erhält im Juli ca ab 11Uhr Sonne. 

 

Südkante 11SL | 400m | 5a (4c obl) die einfachste Tour in der Wand. Sehr lohnend.

Durststrecke 9SL | 400m | 5b+ (5b obl) griffig und äusserst lohnend

Am Ueli sis Chueli 10SL | 400m | 5b (5a+ obl) dito

Heidi mier weidi 9SL | 400m | 5b+ (5b obl) dito

Fritz u Franz im nüe Glanz 9SL | 400m | 5a+ (5a obl) dito

Loris Boxenstop 12SL | 400m | 5c+ (5c obl) 


 

Topo Mittagflue Westwand

Deutlich steiler und damit auch anspruchsvoller sind die drei Touren in der Westwand. Stabon folgt einer kühnen Linie und bietet gerade im oberen Teil spektakulär steile Kletterei. Die Formkurve bietet schöne, technisch anspruchsvolle Wandkletterei, fast durchgehend im Bereich 7a, wobei insbesondere die dritte Länge nicht zu unterschätzen ist. Die Formkurve teilt die ungemein henkelige Ausstiegslänge (7a) mit Abadia, welche bis auf diese Länge schöne Wandkletterei im Bereich 5a-6b bietet.

Stabon 12SL | 400m | 7b (6c obl) tolle Kletterei, kühne Linie, spektakulär steil
Formkurve 9SL | 400m | 7a+ (7a obl) anhaltend anspruchsvolle Wandkletterei, letzte Längen gemeinsam mit Abadia

Abadia 11SL | 400m | 7a (6b obl) Wandkletterei im Bereich 5a-6b, am Ende henkelige 7a

Mittagflue Zustieg & Abstieg​​

Zustieg | Vom Parkplatz in guten 30 Minuten zu den Einstiegen. Im Frühjahr liegt oft ein Schneefeld auf den letzten Metern, welches gutes Schuhwerk oder gar einen Pickel erforderlich machen kann.

 

Abstieg | Grundsätzlich kann man über die Südwand abseilen, empfohlen wird jedoch der Fussabstieg. Dies aufgrund der Gefahr von Seilverhängern und Steinschlag beim Seilabziehen sowie der oft vielen Seilschaften in den Touren. Der Fussabstieg folgt dem offensichtlichen Weg gleich hinter dem Ausstieg, führt auf den höchsten Punkt und über mehrere Abkletter- und am Ende Abseilstellen zurück zum Einstieg. Einige Abkletterstellen befinden sich im exponierten Absturzgelände und erfordern nochmals die volle Konzentration, sind jedoch mit Eisenstiften gut eingerichtet. Am Ende seilt man 3x25m ab und klettert die letzten par Meter nochmals über Eisenstangen ab. Leider wurden hier die wichtigsten Stangen vom Steinschlag verbogen, was die Abkletterei erschwert. Alternativ kann man auch ein 4. mal orografisch rechts in die Rinne abseilen und zu den Einstiegen abklettern (Steinschlag beachten).

Möchtest du an der Mittagsflue eine Klettertour unternehmen? Frage hier für einen privaten Termin mit Bergführer an oder abonniere unsere Tourenmail und erfahre, wann wir eine Klettertour anbieten.

jetzt

Tourenmail 

abonnieren

Das könnte dich auch interessieren: 

Dr Blau Chäfer | Bergseeschijen | Furkahorn

Schlüsselwörter: Mittagflue, Grimsel, Klettern, Mehrseillängen, Topo, Bergführer, Mountain Guide

     

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon