MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Cheselenflue | Dr Blau Chäfer ****

6SL | 150m | 6a + (5c obl)

W. Britschgi 1996

 

The route name, the blue beetle, sounds lovely and could be associated with a plaisir or even children's route. On the one hand dr Blau Chäfer actually has a plaisir character. The climbing is, as is typical for the cross-layered limestone in the Melchtal, very generous with often positive holds. Accordingly, the Blau Chäfer in particular tests rather your ability to stick good holds in steeper terrain and less how precisely you can move in technically delicate terrain. This suits, for example, those people who have less experience in technically delicate outdoor climbing and who are used to gyms. For those, the Blau Chäfer, for example accompanied by an experienced climber or mountain guide, offers an extremely attractive route to gain experience in outdoor multipitch climbing, comparable for instance to the very generous routes at the Mittagflue above Guttannen.

The rock in the Blau Chäfer is consistently good and the less solid sections are already well cleaned due to the numerous ascents. Climbing requires some power and the grades go up to 6a+, but the mandatory difficulties are no more than 5c. Whether you have to take a rest in the individual pitches or not, it is a great pleasure to climb the impressively steep Blau Chäfer - especially knowing that such steep routes can hardly be found in those grades.

In particular, the protection in the Blau Chäfer deserves the rating Plaisir, that is, the bolts are very tight. In order that you really can't miss the route - or maybe even for artistic reasons? - the bolts were also coloured in blue.


However, the Blau Chäfer also has a different face. Due to the steepness, the tour features an exposure that is hardly seen in plaisir routes. The exposure is abundant when climbing, on the hanging belay and especially when abseiling. The first abseiling pitch is really impressive and does not forgive any mistakes. This marks the tour with an exclusive character. For the joy of the ones and the terror of the others. Taken together dr Blau Chäfer is a really worthwhile route with an exciting mixture of plaisir and wild exposure.

 

Approach the Blau Chäfer

 

The approximate path is shown on the map. You are a little faster if you go up the direct path at 1390m about 10 meters after the second hairpin turn. This branch is difficult to spot from the hiking trail, but is easy to walk.

Topo dr Blau Chäfer

 

L1 5c The route starts along the inclined ramp. At the beginning some demanding moves, but overall the structures are generous from the very beginning a offers great climbing. The popularity of the route can be seen on the rock, since some holds are polished, but the climbing is enjoyable nevertheless.

 

L2 6a+ Continue along the ramp. At the end the route shows its character for the first time, it gets really steep and exposed. Impressive hanging belay with a lot of air underneath.

 

L3 6a+ steep, athletic, great. The depth sucks, gravity pulls. Probably the most impressive, but also the most exhausting pitch.

 

L4 6a+ chimney-like overhang, then easier. Comfortable belay.

 

L5 6a+ Face climbing on great structures. The hanging belay is again exposed and gives an idea of ​​what the abseiling will look like...

 

L6 6a Finally some technically delicate moves where you have to spread out precisely.

 

 

Abseiling Blau Chäfer

 

  • Rappel along the route itself only the last pitch number 6 (15 m)

  • Then about 45 m free abseiling into the void - very exposed. You clip the existing rope as a "guide rope" with the self-securing sling and finally pull the guide rope to get to the next abseiling belay (do not abseil along the guide rope!). The rope is partially covered with a protection, so use a large carabiner. Definitely use a Prusik!

  • With 60 meters of double ropes, you can rappel straight down to the ground from here. With shorter ropes again abseil along a guide rope 30 meters and from there another 30 meters to the ground.

Beauty : **** / *****

Protection : xxxxx / XXXXX solid material

Exposure : southeast

Material : 50m or 60m double ropes, 14 quickdraws, including extensions, abseilling gear, no cams

 

 

 

Book climbing tour Blau Chäfer

 

Would you like to climb the Blau Chäfer or a different tour at Cheselenfluh? 

To book us, you have 2 options.

 

 

Option 1 | book mybergtour group

Subscribe to our Tour Mail . Whenever ideal conditions come up, we post climbing tours on mybergtour.ch. You will be informed by email and can register online.

 

Your advantages: You will be offered exactly those tours that are in best conditions and you can decide at short notice.

 

Costs from CHF 390.- per person and day

Max. 2 persons

 

 

 

Option 2: book privately

Here you are the boss. You determine both the date and the tour. We are looking for a guide for you and soon you can start.

 

Your advantages: You can freely choose the tour and the date and go to the mountains with your friends.

 

Costs from CHF 650.- per day

 

 

 

 

You might also be interested in:  

Climbing at the Mittagflue | Gross Bielenhorn | Salbit West Ridge

 

Keywords: Cheselenflue, dr blue shepherd, the blue beetle, climbing, topo, mountain guide, mountain guide

 

      

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon

MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Cheselenflue | Dr Blau Chäfer ****

6SL | 150m | 6a+ (5c obl)

W. Britschgi 1996

 

Der Routenname, dr blau Chäfer, klingt lieblich und könnte mit einer Plaisir- oder sogar Kinderrroute assoziiert werden. Das eine Gesicht der Tour erfüllt auch tatsächlich Plaisircharakter. Die Kletterei ist, typisch für den quergeschichteten Kalk im Melchtal, sehr grosszügig an oft positiven Griffen. Entsprechend wird im blauen Käfer insbesondere abgefragt, ob man gute Griffe im steileren Gelände festhalten und weniger wie elegant man technisch anspruchsvolle Züge meistern kann. Dies kommt zum Beispiel jenen Personen entgegen, die weniger Erfahrung im technisch filigranen Outdoorklettern haben und gängiges Klettergelände, wie zB aus der Halle, gewohnt sind.  Für diese bietet der blaue Käfer, zB in Begleitung eines erfahrenen Vorsteigers oder Bergführers, eine äusserst attraktive Tour mit  eingängiger Kletterei, vergleichbar zB mit den ebenfalls sehr grosszügigen Touren an der Mittagflue bei Guttannen.

Der Fels im blau Chäfer ist durchwegs gut und die weniger soliden Stellen durch die vielen Begehungen bereits gut geputzt. Ein Durchstieg verlangt etwas Ausdauer und ein Kletterkönnen bis ca. 6a+, die obligatorischen Schwierigkeiten belaufen sich jedoch maximal auf 5c. Ob mit oder ohne Hänger, es ist eine wahre Freude, die eindrücklich steilen Seillängen vom blau Chäfer zu klettern. Dies kriegt man in der Schwierigkeit selten geboten.

Insbesondere die Absicherung im blauen Käfer verdient das Prädikat Plaisir, sprich es wurde sehr eng gebohrt. Damit man die Route wirklich nicht verfehlen kann - oder sogar aus abstrakten künstlerischen Überlegungen? - wurden die Bohrhaken auch noch blau eingefärbt.


Dr blau Chäfer hat jedoch auch ein anderes Gesicht. Aufgrund der Steilheit bringt die Tour eine Exponiertheit mit sich, welche man von Plaisirrouten her kaum kennt. Die Ausgesetztheit ist beim Klettern, am Hängestand und insbesondere beim Abseilen deutlich spürbar. Die erste Abseilstelle mit Führungsseil ist wirklich sehr eindrücklich und verzeiht keine Fehler. Dies verleiht der Tour Pfeffer und einen exklusiven Charakter. Zur Freude der Einen und zum Schrecken der Anderen. Insgesamt eine wirklich lohnende Tour mit einer spannenden Mischung aus Plaisir- und etwas wilderem Charakter.

Zustieg dr blau Chäfer

Der ungefähre WegverSiehe Karte. Etwas schneller ist man, wenn man auf 1390m Höhe ca 10 Meter nach der zweiten Zickzack-Kurve den direkten Weg hoch. Dieser hat nur einen unscheinbaren Steinmann und der Eingang ist vom Wanderweg schwer zu erkennen, ist jedoch gut zu gehen.

Topo dr blau Chäfer

L1 5c Die Tour startet entlang der geneigten Rampe. Anfangs ein par anspruchsvollere Züge, insgesamt jedoch bereits hier sehr grosszügige und schöne Kletterei. Die Beliebtheit der Tour ist dem Fels anzusehen, sind einige Tritte doch bereits etwas abgetreten, was jedoch kaum stört.

L2 6a+ Weiter entlang der Rampe. Am Ende der Länge zeigt die Tour ihren Charakter zum ersten mal, da wirds richtig steil und exponiert. Eindrücklicher Hängestand mit Luft unter dem Hintern. 

 

L3  6a+ Steil, athletisch, grossartig. Die Tiefe saugt, die Schwerkraft zieht. Wahrscheinlich die eindrücklichste, aber auch anstrengendste Länge. 

L4 6a+ Kaminartiger Überhang, dann weniger schwer. Gemütlicher Stand auf Band.

L5 6a+ Wandkletterei an tollen Strukturen. Der Hängestand ist wiederum exponiert und lässt erahnen, was die Abseilerei mit sich bringen wird...

L6 6a Zum Abschluss wird dann doch noch etwas Technik verlangt: Verschneidungskletterei, wo man präzise Ausspreizen darf.

   

Abseilen dr blau Chäfer

  • Nur die oberste Länge entlang der Tour zurück abseilen (15 m)

  • Dann ca. 45 m Abseiler völlig freihängend und sehr exponiert. Man klippt z.B. mit der Selbstsicherungsschlinge das vorhandene Seil als "Führungsseil" um sich dann weiter unten daran zum nächsten Abseilstand zu ziehen (nicht daran abseilen!!). Das Seil ist nach einigen Metern abseilen zum Teil mit dickem Schlauch ummantelt, daher einen grossen Karabiner verwenden. Abseilen freihängend ein wenig weiter als Höhe nächster Stand, dann am Führungsseil zum Stand ziehen, ca. 10 Meter. Unbedingt Prusik verwenden, ohne geht es praktisch nicht.

  • Mit 60 Meter Doppelseil kann von dort direkt zum Boden abgeseilt werden. Mit kürzeren Seilen nochmals entlang eines Führungsseiles 30 Meter und von dort nochmals 30 Meter bis Boden.

Schönheit: ****/*****

Absicherung: xxxxx/XXXXX solides Material

Exposition: Südost

Material: 50m Doppelseil, 14 Expressschlingen, inkl. verlängerbare, keine Cams

Möchtest du an der Cheselenflue eine Klettertour unternehmen? Frage hier für einen privaten Termin mit Bergführer an oder abonniere unsere Tourenmail und erfahre, wann wir eine Klettertour anbieten.

   

jetzt

Tourenmail 

abonnieren

   

Das könnte dich auch interessieren:  

Klettern an der Mittagflue | Gross Bielenhorn | Salbit Westgrat

Schlüsselwörter: Cheselenflue, dr blau Chäfer, der blaue Käfer, Klettern, Topo, Bergführer, Mountain Guide

      

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon