MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Climbing on the Eiger | Golden Shower ****

10 SL | 270m | 7b (7a obl)

J. Allemann, A. Stadler 2017-19

RP 1 Aug. 30, 2019 - Topo

 

golden line - golden rock - golden memories

 

Most people associate climbing on the Eiger with snow and ice and the countless wild, tragic but also glorious stories that took place on this world-famous mountain. In the right part of the Eiger north face and at its western foothills you will also find routes in which you are adequately equipped with climbing finches, quickdraws and magnesia bag. You will find mighty rock pillars and impressive walls that feature generously structured limestone. Climbing history has been written on the Czech and Geneva pillars for a long time. The most famous tour here is Deep Blue Sea. To the right of the Geneva pillar on the western foothills of the north face of the Eiger, however, it was quiet for a long time. Only the mountain guide and hard-working first ascentionist Daniel Anker and colleague Gruber had climbed the first route here in 1988 named Löcherspiel. There has been a lot of activity in the past 5 years and four new routes have been opened: Ratatat, Meltdown, Golden Shower and another tour that has not yet been completed (as of Sept 19).

The routes on the western foothills of the Eiger north face are all worthwhile. On the one hand because of their stunning setting. Although you don't climb in the middle of the Eiger north face, you do climb on the foothills of this mighty mountain. Alpine history is all around and which climber, whether he is a hobby athlete, mountain guide or full professional, does not even want to sniff the atmosphere of the north face of the Eiger.

On the other hand, from the quality of climbing. The rock on the Eiger is usually very generously structured, offers many positive crimps and grippy holes, on which climbing is really fun. The rock quality can vary. From rough rock of world-class quality to good to sections where you can never be sure whether the hold will really hold. Most of the time, however, the very good rock predominates and stunning pitches are bought with a few meters in brittle rock. A fair deal. However, there is a risk of rock fall when other climbers are on the way.

Finally, the short, extremely scenic approach from Kleine Scheidegg via the Rotstock via ferrata makes the area additionally attractive.

Pleasant conditions usually prevail here when the temperature in the valley is 30 degrees or more. Even then, there should be enough warm clothes in the backpack.

Approach and descent Golden Shower

 

By train to Kleine Scheidegg and then to the Rotstock via ferrata, which you leave after the ladders and traverse left onto the rubble belt to the start (faint trail and cairns, see also map). The routes are set up for abseiling. From the exit of Golden Shower, Ratatat, Meltdown and Löcherspiel you can also descend to the Eigergletscher station in about 45 minutes via the exposed west flank. A comfortable option is to travel by (electric) bike from Grindelwald Grund. So you don't have to catch the last train down to the valley, you can take full advantage of the day and comfortably roll down towards Grindelwald in the evening. Note: the train does not transport bicycles on the first train.

Topo Golden Shower

 

L1 6c Start is marked with a bolt. In simple and beautiful climbing over the gray slab. After that increasingly difficult in golden rock over crimps and drip holes to the belay on a ledge. 6Bolts, 25m.

L2 7a Great pitch. Bouldering crux above the belay on positive crimps. Continue in demanding but great climbing on to the ledge. Persistent moves lead to a comfortable belay on another ledge. 7 Bolts, 25m, at the end optional cams 0.3-0.75 can be used.

 

L3 6a+ Straight up from the belay and cross the brittle but easy section to the left into the gray wall. This awaits with great, grippy wall climbing. Very worthwhile! 6Bolts 25m, optional Cam 2 at the beginning.

 

L4 7a The heart of the route. Great wall climbing on rough and generously structured limestone. WOW! Crux over the 4th bolt. Cams 0.3-1  might be useful. 10Bolts, 40m.

 

L5 5c After the rubble ledge into the distinctive dihedral, which features surprisingly solid rock and large holds. Great climbing and a cozy belay on the tower, which gets sun in the late afternoon. 2Bolts 25m, Cam 2 at the beginning and optionally smaller ones higher up.

 

L6 6a+ Straight up on large and slopy holes. Cam 0.75 at the beginning, further placements possible. Then onwards in the best, grippy rock and a little exposed. At the end, as soon as possible, go right and cross back left to the belay at the lip. 4Bolts, 40m cams 0.3-2.

 

L7 7b Carefully over the short brittle section in the beginning. Then great climbing in golden rock and small crimps to a good rest. Then a second demanding crux. Continue in easier climbing to the exciting finale. 8Bolts, 30m, optional Cam 0.5.

 

L8 7a up onto the ledge and cross to the right in delicate, technical climbing. Then a demanding crux over the shingled flakes. Continue in moderately solid rock to the belay. The climbing in the second part is a bit uncomfortable due to the “shingled” rock, but this is more stable than it looks 8Bolts, 25m.

 

L9 6c Better rock again. Short crux. In the end shingled rock, but large holds and well protectred. 5Bolts, 1 piton 20m.

 

L10 5a Eigerbrittle at its best. Climbing carefully is the game here. To be honest, this pitch is not rewarding at all, whoever who climbs it will be compensated with a summit on the pot-level tower and has the option to descend on foot. 2Bolts, 1 piton, 15m.

 

 

Beauty : **** / *****

Protection : xxx / XXXXX must be partially supplemented with a mobile device

Exposure : north

Material : 50m double rope, 12 quickdraws, cams C4 0.3-2

Further routes on the western foothills of the Eiger north face

 

Löcherspiel *** (Topo Löcherspiel )

8SL | 250m | 6b (6b obl)

D. Anker, Gruber 88

 

The first route on the western foothills of the Eiger north face. Initially very adventurous and sparsely equipped, the routes exhibits twice as many bolts after a refurbishment by D. Anker, M. Romang and C. Frick 2018 . Nice climbing with homogeneous difficulties and some traverses. The rock is mostly good to very good and, as usual on the Eiger, very climber-friendly.

 

Project

Frick & Schmid

 

Ratatat **** (Topo Ratatat)

10 SL | 265m | 7a (6c obl)

J. Allemann, D. Osswald 2016

 

Very nice, versatile route with the generously structured wall climbing characteristic of the Eiger, but also technical sections, short steep parts and beautiful dihedrals. The protection is consistently good, in between mobile devices can also be placed.

 

Meltdown 7a+

Robert Jasper 2019

 

An old project by Robert Jasper, which he completed in 2019 ropesolo. Short, steep single cruxes and wall climbing, but also more brittle zones in between. Finishes via Ratatat. Start a few meters to the left of Golden Shower.

 

Book rock climbing on the Eiger

 

Would you like to go rockclimbing on the western foothills of the world famous Eiger or climb another mountain? To book us, you have 2 Options.

 

Option 1 | book mybergtour group

Subscribe to our Tour Mail. Whenever ideal conditions come up, we post climbing tours on mybergtour.ch. You will be informed by email and can register online.

 

Your advantages: You will be offered exactly those tours that are in best conditions and you can decide at short notice.

 

Costs from CHF 390.- per person and day

Max. 2 persons

 

Option 2 | book privately

Here you are the boss. You determine both the date and the tour. We are looking for a guide for you and soon you can start.

 

Your advantages: You can freely choose the tour and the date and go to the mountains with your friends.

 

Costs from CHF 650.- per day

 

 

 

 

You might also be interested in:

Wendenstöcke Excalibur | Bielenhorn | Salbit West Ridge |

 

Keywords: climbing, multi-pitch, Eiger north face, western foothills, golden shower, topo, mountain guide

 

 

 

 

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon

MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Klettern am Eiger | Golden Shower ****

10 SL | 270m | 7b (7a obl) 

J. Allemann, A. Stadler 2017-19

1. RP 30. Aug. 2019 - Topo

goldene Linie - goldener Fels - goldene Erinnerungen

 

Kletten an der Eigernordwand assoziieren die allermeisten mit Schnee und Eis und den unzähligen wilden, tragischen aber auch glorreichen Geschichten, die sich an dieser weltbekannten Wand abgespielt haben. Im rechten Teil der Eiger Nordwand und an ihren westlichen Ausläufern findet man jedoch auch Routen, in welchen man mit Kletterfinken, Expressschlingen und Magnesiabeutel adäquat ausgerüstet ist. Man findet mächtige Felspfeiler und eindrückliche Wände, die mit grosszügig strukturiertem Kalkgestein aufwarten. Am Tschechen- und Genferpfeiler wird bereits seit langer Zeit Klettergeschichte geschrieben. Die wohl bekannteste Tour hier ist Deep Blue Sea. Rechts des Genferpfeilers an den westlichen Ausläufern der Eigernordwand war es jedoch lange still. Einzig der Bergführer und fleissige Erstbegeher Daniel Anker und Kollege Gruber hatten hier 1988 mit Löcherspiel die erste Route hochgezogen. In den letzten 5 Jahren herrschte dafür reger Betrieb und es entstanden gleich vier neuen Touren: Ratatat, Meltdown, Golden Shower sowie ein weitere, noch nicht vollendete Tour (Stand Sept 19).

Die Touren an den Westausläufern der Eigernordwand sind alle lohnend. Einerseits nur schon vom Ambiente her. Man klettert zwar nicht mitten in der Eiger Nordwand, jedoch immerhin an den Ausläufern dieses mächtigen Bergs. Die Alpingeschichte ist also rundum präsent und welcher Kletterer, seis nun Hobbysportler, Bergführer oder Vollprofi möchte nicht einmal Eigernordwandluft schnuppern.

Andererseits von der Art der Kletterei her. Der Fels am Eiger ist meist sehr grosszügig strukturiert, bietet viele positive Leisten und griffige Löcher, an welchen das Klettern richtig Spass macht. Die Felsqualität kann dabei variieren. Von rauhem, wasserzerfressenem Fels der Qualität weltklasse über gut bis zu Bruchstellen, wo wo man nie ganz sicher ist, ob der Griff nun hält oder nicht. Mehrheitlich überwiegt jedoch der sehr gute Fels und die top Längen erkauft man sich halt mit einigen Metern in brüchigem Fels. Ein fairer Deal. Zu beachten ist dennoch die Steinschlaggefahr, wenn andere Kletterer unterwegs sind. 

Als letztes macht der kurze, landschaftlich äusserst reizvolle Zustieg von der Kleinen Scheidegg via Klettersteig Rotstock das Gebiet sehr attraktiv.

Angenehme Verhältnisse herrschen hier in der Regel, wenns im Tal 30 Grad oder mehr hat. Selbst dann gehören jedoch genügend warme Kleider in den Rucksack.

Zu- und Abstieg Golden Shower

Mit der Bahn auf die Kleine Scheidegg und danach zum Klettersteigs Rotstock, welchen man nach den Leitern verlässt und links auf die Schuttbänder zu den Einstiegen traversiert (Pfadspuren und Steinmänner, siehe Karte). Die Touren sind zum Abseilen eingerichtet. Vom Austieg von Golden Shower, Ratatat, Meltdown und Löcherspiel kann man auch über die exponierte Westflanke in ca 45 Minuten zur Station Eigergletscher absteigen. Eine komfortable Variante bietet die Anfahrt mit (Elektro-) Velo ab Grindelwald Grund. Somit muss man nicht den letzten Zug ins Tal erwischen, kann den Tag ganz ausnutzen und abends gemütlich in Richtung Grindelwald hinunterrollen. Beachte: die Bahn transportiert keine Fahrräder auf der ersten Bahn.

Topo Golden Shower


 

L1 6c Einstieg ist mit einem Bohrhaken markiert. In einfacher und schöner Kletterei über die graue Einstiegsplatte. Danach zunehmend schwerer im goldenen Fels über Leisten und Tropflöcher zum Stand auf dem Band. 6Bh 25m.
 

L2 7a Tolle Länge. Boulderstelle vom Stand weg an positiven Leisten. Weiter in fordernder und toller Kletterei aufs Band. Danach sehr grossgriffig und ausdauernd zum bequemen Stand auf dem Band. 7Bh, 25m, am Ende optional Cams 0.3-0.75 einsetzbar. 

 

L3 6a+ Vom Stand gerade hoch und über etwas unangenehmes, brüchiges Gelände nach links in die graue Wand queren. Diese  wartet mit grossartiger, griffiger Wandkletterei auf. Sehr lohnend! 6Bh 25m, optional Cam 2 am Anfang.

 

L4 7a Das Herzstück der Tour. Hammer Wandkletterei an rauhem und grosszügig strukturierem Kalk. WOW! Crux über den 4. Borhaken. Danach anhaltend weiter. Die etwas weiteren Hakenabstände können bei Bedarf mit Cams 0.3-1 entschärft werden. 10Bh, 40m.

 

L5 5c nach dem Schuttband in die markante Verschneidung, welche mit überraschend solidem Fels und grossen Griffen aufwaret. Tolle Kletterei und gemütlicher Stand auf dem Turm, welcher am späteren Nachmittag Sonne erhält. 2Bh 25m, Cam 2 am Anfang und optional kleinere höher.

 

L6 6a+ Gerade hoch über grosse, sloprige Löcher. Cam 0.75 am Anfang, weitere Placements möglich. Danach in bestem, griffigem Fels und etwas exponiert weiter. Am Ende so früh wie möglich rechts aufs Band und an der Lippe nach links zum Stand queren (Abseilstand). 4Bh, 40m Cams 0.3-2.

 

L7 7b Vorsichtig über den Vorbau. Danach tolle Leistenkletterei in goldenem Fels bis zum guten Schüttler. Danach eine zweite fordernde Stelle. Weiter in einfacherer Kletterei zum spannenden Finale, welches einem den Strom aus den Unterarmen saugen kann. 8Bh, 30m, optional Cam 0.5.

 

L8 7a Hoch auf das Band und in filigraner, technischer Kletterei nach rechts queren. Danach anspruchsvolle Stelle über die schindlige Schuppe hinweg. Weiter in mässig solidem Fels zum Stand hin. Die Kletterei ist im zweiten Teil etwas unangenehm aufgrund des “schindligen” Fels, dieser ist jedoch stabiler als er aussieht 8Bh, 25m.

 

L9 6c Wieder besserer Fels. Kurze Schlüsselstelle. Am Ende schindlige Stelle, jedoch grossgriffig und gut abgesichert. 5Bh 1Nh 20m. 

 

L10 5a Eigerbruch at its best. Vorsichtig Klettern ist hier angesagt. Diese Länge ist ehrlich gesagt total unlohnend, wer sie trotzdem klettert wird dafür mit einem Gipfelerlebnis auf dem topfebenen Turm entschädigt und hat die Option, zu Fuss abzusteigen. 2Bh, 1Nh, 15m.

 

Schönheit: ****/*****

Absicherung: xxx/XXXXX muss teilweise mobil ergänzt werden

Exposition: Nord

Material: 50m Doppelseil, 12 Exen, Cams C4 0.3-2

Weitere Touren an den Westausläufern der Eiger Nordwand

Löcherspiel *** (Topo Löcherspiel)

8SL | 250m | 6b (6b obl) 

D. Anker, Gruber 88 

 

Die erste Tour an den Westausläufern der Eigernordwand. Anfänglich sehr abenteuerlich und spärlich abgesichert, zeigt sich die Tour nach einer Sanierung durch D. Anker, M. Romang und C. Frick 2018 mit ca. doppelt so vielen Bohrhaken. Schöne Kletterei mit homogenen Schwierigkeiten und einigen Quergängen. Der Fels ist meist gut bis sehr gut und wie üblich am Eiger sehr kletterfreundlich. 

 

Projekt

Frick & Schmid

Ratatat **** (Topo Ratatat)

10 SL | 265m | 7a (6c obl) 

J. Allemann, D. Osswald 2016

 

Sehr schöne, vielseitige Tour mit der für den Eiger typischen, grosszügig strukturieren Wandkletterei, daneben jedoch auch technische Passagen, kurze steile Stellen sowie schöne Verschneidungskletterei. Die Absicherung ist durchwegs gut, dazwischen können vereinzelt auch mobile Sicherungen angebracht werden. 

Meltdown 7a+

Robert Jasper 2019

Ein altes Projekt von Robert Jasper, welches er 2019 ropesolo vollendet hat. Kurze, steile Einzelstellen und Wandkletterei, jedoch auch brüchigere Zonen dazwischen. Steigt über Ratatat aus. Einstieg wenige Meter links von Golden Shower.

Möchtest du am Eiger eine Klettertour mit Bergführer unternehmen? Frage hier für einen privaten Termin mit Bergführer an oder abonniere unsere Tourenmail und erfahre, wann wir eine Klettertour anbieten.

    

jetzt

Tourenmail 

abonnieren

     

Das könnte dich auch interessieren: 

Wenden Excalibur | Bielenhorn | Salbit Westgrat

Schlüsselwörter: Klettern, Mehrseillängen, Eiger Nordwand, Westausläufer, Golden Shower, Topo, Bergführer, Mountain Guide

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon