MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Climbing Petit Clocher du Portalet | Etat de Choc *****

9SL | 250m | 7a (6c obl)

C. & Y. Rémy 1983, partially refurbished

 

Etat de Choc at the Petit Clocher du Portalet: a climbing route that can amaze and scare you. You cant help but being amazed if you see the Petit Clocher du Portalet for the first time, this impressive and mighty rock needle in the Orny area. You cant help but being amazed for the second time when you recognize the striking crack line that runs straight through the north wall. The mountain and the route are easily visible from the nearby Cabane d'Orny and inspire every seasoned alpinist and mountain guide with respect and awe.

And those who climb this steep and athletic route can get scared or even fall within a state of shock. Etat de Choc is the line at the Petit Clocher du Portalet, the crack line of the region and we personally believe the crack line in the entire Alpine region. It is in no way inferior to world-famous classics such as Astroman or Rostrum in the godfather of all crackclimbing valley, the Yosemite. Given you like clean crack climbing, Etat de Choc really offers everything that makes a perfect tour. A steep north wall on an imposing granite cone creates the alpine ambience. The continuous, obvious crack system the perfect line. The steepness the athletic climbing and the largely clean protection the adventure. On top of that you get the high-quality Chamonix granite, which can also be found at the Petit Clocher du Portalet. What more do you want!

Here is an interesting report about climbing on Petit Clocher. If you are interested in further clean routes, you might also like: Laura , Florina , Eternal Crack.

 

 

Etat de Choc is not free. Already getting there with the heavy cams in your backpack costs a few drops of sweat. However, an aspirant for Etat de Choc must bring a solid crack climbing technique from hand- to body-size and be able to apply this technique in difficulties up to 7a. You also need solid know-how and practice in dealing with cams as well as a stable morale in order to utilize all this knowledge even in a state of shock. But no worries, the route is not that wild. However, Etat de Choc is definitely something for the experienced, advanced climber or the perfect opportunity to hire a mountain guide. The climbing is demanding and traditional. However, Etat de Choc can be protected very easily anywhere with mobile devices, and occasionally there is even a bolt.

 

 

Approach Etat de Choc I (from Champex via Cabane d'Orny)

 

From Champex with the chair lift to Grands-Plans and from here in about 2 hours to Cabane d'Orny, where you can spend the night and enjoy the evening before with a direct view of the route and the emerging mixture of anticipation and jitters. This variant has the disadvantage that you should catch the last chair lift down to the vally, especially if the car is in Champex. Alternatively, you can climb from the Vallon d'Arpette de Saleinaz and be independent.

From Cabane d'Orny, you descend briefly on the hut trail and on the flat glacier tongue. From there, keep right (direction SSO) to the lowest point of the moraine / glacier tongue. From there a trail leads (red dots and cairns) descending to the edge of the moraine directly at the base. 10 meters descent (brittle, sandy, helmet!) relieved by a fixed rope in a couloir, which is usually filled with snow. Traverse this (possibly ice axe), then follow the trail with easy climbing sections until you stand to the left below the Etat de Choc line.

 

 

Approach Etat de Choc II (via Vallon d'Arpette de Saleinaz)

 

From Praz de Fort, follow the road into Vallon d'Arpette de Saleinaz until the road ends at a forest house. From here in about 2.5 hours to the base. 20 minutes before the base you will find a great bivouac with water nearby.

Topo Etat de Choc

 

L1 & L2 6b+ Recommendation: Take the start over the simple, logical terrain and bypass pitch 1 & 2 on the right. So you can save energy and the two pitches are comparatively less worthwhile. From the approach trail up into the couloir, then keep left over easy climbing to the visible belay on slings. From there, turn right and then climb back to the left, always following the simplest, logical terrain to the point below the first steep pitch (approx. 5b).

 

L3 6b+ First steep pitch. A bolt at the crux, cam 2 below and small cams above.

 

L4 6c From here it gets serious. To the left, then follow the widening crack (until fist). Tip: attach the gear (cams 0.75, 1, 2 and 3) on the right side. The rock wall on the left is blocking. There is an intermediate bolt after the crack. Follow the easy chimney to a belay on fixed slings (reinforce with cams, e.g. Cam 4)

 

L4 ' Short pitch of 10 meters. Belay on a good bolt and cam 0.5. This pitch can also be connected to the previous one with a 50m rope. Depicted in the topo as one pitch.

 

L5 7a Cruxpitch . Up to the overhang Cam # 1 and smaller, then the whole gear. The overhang looks difficult, but turns out to be rather easy. Then Squeeze-Chimney and the actual crux, switch to layback and leave the chimney. This point is secured with a bolt. Hanging belay. Tip: Take off the helmet and hang the gear around your shoulder instead of on the harness.

 

L6 6c Offwidth or layback (Cam 5 very helpful) to no-hands rest. Then climb  the stunning double crack (cams 4, then 3, then 2) and to the right to the belay. The double crack is one of the highlights of the route. Alternatively, instead of climbing to the right to the belay, you can follow the steep crack dihedral (Cam 3 necessary, Cam 2-4 possible) and thus add the next pitch immediately. Difficulties then rise to about 7b.

 

L7 7a Layback the wide crack up to the bolt and continue further on to the pedestal (no hands rest). Further up and over a wall climbing section (7a) to the left. After a few meters belay in the left crack (any combination of cams 1 - 3 possible for belay construction). Alternatively right out to Ave Caesar's belay.

 

L8 6b+ Follow the left crack (hand to fist). After an overhang with fixed slings on the right into easier terrain. Straight up again over brittle overhang and then keep to the right about 15 m below the summit.

 

L9 Grade four up to the summit

 

Abseiling along Ave Caesar, 60m ropes particularly handy.

 

Beauty : ***** / *****

Protection : - / XXXXX can be very easily secured anywhere

Exposure : north

Material : 50m double rope, 10 quickdraws, sling material. Possibly ice axe for snow field crossing. Wedges are not necessary. Camalots C4 # 0.3 - 5, with # 0.75 - 4 double. Cam # 5 not a must, but gives comfort, Cam # 6 definitely not necessary. Cams # 2, 3 and 4 triple is even more comfortable and can be easily used, but twice is enough.

Advice: climbing with a backpack is practically impossible in a narrow chimney. Either hang everything on a belt or haul.

Other highlights on Petit Clocher du Portalet

 

Ave Caesar *****

10SL | 250m | 7c (7a obl)
D. Berthod, F. Mathey, A. Mikolajak 2003

Great route. In addition to Etat de Choc, it is probably the most frequently climbed route in the north face. The 7b+ pitch has a demanding wall climbing section (bolt protected) right at the beginning, followed by great crack climbing. The two 7C pitches ask both for finger crack climbing, the latter with a striking crux at the end on Bolts. Rumor has it that some holds got better there. The difficulties in the finger cracks may depend on the thickness of the fingers.

 

La guerre des nerfs ****

9SL | 250m | 7b (6c obl)

L. Abbet, F. Roduit 1982

 

Start from the large ledge that can be reached via simple terrain or Ave Caesar. The Crux consists of a technically very demanding 7b pitch. The heart of the route is the subsequent stunning crack dihedral, which you follow over two pitches. The bolts are placed airy, in between the crack swallows countless cams # 4. However, these are not absolutely necessary, although good for the nerves.

 

La Voie des Cheminées *****

6SL | 200m | 6b+ OW (6b+ obl)
First ascent unknown

 

A route for "aficiondos", which sees hardly any traffic! It follows the fracture system that divides the entire Petit Clocher du Portalet. Etat de Choc runs along this system on the north side and La Voie des Cheminées on the east side. This bombastic line can be seen prominently when approaching through the Vallon d'Arpette. Access is via the first pitch of Esprit du Clocher. Then La Voie des Cheminées follows one of the two off-width cracks. The right one is a bit easier and requires cams up to #5, the left one requires sizes up to #6 and even a little bigger if you really want to secure. The left variant is comparable in style and difficulty with the Monster OW at El Capitan in Yosemite, which is rated 6b+. The pitch can definitely feel a lot harder, especially if you try to compensate for missing off-width technique with power. Alternatively, you can also aid up the old piton ladder on the left. Then you climb practically continuously in chimneys, sometimes deep in the dark mountain. Bring along knee pads and headlamp! The climbing itself is never too difficult, but it does require route finding skills. The belays are usually poorly equipped, along you might find old pitons from time to time and usually you can place your own gear, but you want to have the big cams on your harness. La Voie des Cheminées ends right at the summit of the Petit Clocher. Abseil down the north face or Esprit du Clocher. A unique, adventurous route and an absolute highlight for lovers of alpine chimneys, a nightmare for many others.

 
Le Chic, le Chèque et le Choc ****

7SL | 230m | 6c (6a + obl)

C. & Y. Rémy, 1986

 

Probably the most rewarding route in the southeast wall. Great rock and great climbing along a crack and dihedral system with some slabs. The route is popular and often climbed. And rightly so, because it offers really great climbing. If you make the effort to walk up to the Petit Clocher though, you should climb at least one route on the north wall (Etat de Choc). Chic Chèque Choc is the ideal route for the day of the descent.

 

 

 

 

Book climbing on Petit Clocher du Portalet

 

Would you like to climb Petit Clocher over Etat de Choc or go on another climbing tour? To book us, you have 2 Options.

 

 

Option 1 | book mybergtour group

Subscribe to our Tour Mail. Whenever ideal conditions come up, we post climbing tours on mybergtour.ch. You will be informed by email and can register online.

 

Your advantages: You will be offered exactly those tours that are in best conditions and you can decide at short notice.

 

Costs from CHF 390.- per person and day

Max. 2 persons

 

Option 2 | book privately

Here you are the boss. You determine both the date and the tour. We are looking for a guide for you and soon you can start.

 

Your advantages: You can freely choose the tour and the date and go to the mountains with your friends.

 

Costs from CHF 650.- per day

 

 

 

 

You might also be interested in:

Teufelstalwand | Salbit West Ridge | Wendenstöcke |

 

Key words: Petit Clocher du Portalet, Etat de Choc, climbing, crack climbing, claenklettern, topo, mountain guide

 

      

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon

MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Klettern am Petit Clocher du Portalet | Etat de Choc *****

9SL | 250m | 7a (6c obl)

C. & Y. Rémy 1983, teilsaniert

 

Etat de Choc am Petit Clocher du Portalet: eine Tour zum Staunen & Fürchten. Ins Staunen gerät zum ersten Mal, wer den Petit Clocher du Portalet, die eindrückliche und mächtige Felsnadel im Ornygebiet, erblickt. Ins Staunen gerät zum zweiten Mal, wer die markante Risslinie erkennt, welche die Nordwand schnurgerade durchzieht. Der Berg und die Tour sind von der nahen Cabane d’Orny aus bestens einsehbar und flössen jedem gestandenen Alpinisten und Bergführer Respekt ein.

Und ins Fürchten oder gar einen Schockzustand kann geraten, wer in eben dieser steilen und athlethischen Tour klettert. Etat de Choc ist die Linie am Petit Clocher du Portalet, die Risstour der Region und wir persönlich sind der Meinung die Risstour im gesamten Alpenraum. Sie steht weltbekannten Touren wie Astroman oder Rostrum im Godfahter of all Crackclimbing-Valley, dem Yosemite, in nichts nach. Vorausgesetzt man mag cleane Rissklettertouren, bietet Etat de Choc wirklich alles, was eine perfekte Tour ausmacht. Eine steile, Respekt einflössende Nordwand an einem imposanten Granitzapfen sorgt für das alpine Ambiente.  Das durchgehende, offensichtliche Risssystem für die perfekte Linie. Die Steilheit für die athlethische Kletterei und die weitgehend cleane Absicherung für das Abenteuer. Abgerundet wird das ganze mit dem hochwertigen Chamonix-Granit, den man auch am Petit Clocher du Portalet findet. Was will man mehr!
Hier ein interessanter Bericht aus den Alpen zum Petit Clocher sowie weitere empfohlene cleane Risstouren: Laura, Florina, Eternal Crack

Gratis ist Etat de Choc nicht zu haben. Bereits der Zustieg mit den schweren Cams im Rucksack kostet einige Schweisstropfen. Ein Aspirant von Etat de Choc muss jedoch insbesondere eine solide Rissklettertechnik von Hand- bis Körperriss mitbringen und diese in den Schwierigkeiten bis 7a an den Fels resp Riss bringen. Weiter brauchts ein solides Know-How und Übung im Umgang mit Cams sowie eine stabile Moral, um all dieses Wissen auch im Schockzustand noch anwenden zu können. Nein, ganz so wild ist die Tour nicht. Etat de Choc ist jedoch sicher etwas für den erfahrenen, fortgeschrittenen Kletterer oder die perfekte Gelegenheit, einen Bergführer zu engagieren. Die Kletterei ist alpin und Rissklettern muss man können. Etat de Choc lässt sich jedoch überall sehr gut mobil absichern und vereinzelt steckt sogar ein Bohrhaken.

Zustieg Etat de Choc I (ab Champex via Cabane d’Orny)

Von Champex mit dem Sessellift nach Grands-Plans und von hier in ca 2h zur Cabane d’Orny, wo man übernachten kann und den Vorabend mit dem direkten Blick auf die Tour und der aufkommenden Mischung aus Vorfreude und Bammel geniessen. Diese Variante hat den Nachteil, dass man die letzte Talfahrt erwischen sollte, insbesondere wenn das Auto in Champex steht. Alternativ steigt man vom Vallon d’Arpette de Saleinaz auf und ist unabhängig.

Ab Cabane d'Orny steigt man auf dem Hüttenweg kurz bergab und an geeigneter Stelle auf die flache Gletscherzunge. Von dort schräg rechts haltend (Richtung SSO) zu tiefstem Punkt der Möräne / Gletscherzunge. Von dort führt eine Wegspur (rote Punkte und Steinmänner) absteigend zum Moränenrand direkt am Fuss des Vorbaus. 10 Meter Abstieg (brüchig, sandig, Helm!) erleichtert von Fixseil in Couloir, das meist schneegefüllt ist. Dieses traversieren (evtl. Pickel), dann den Wegspuren mit einfachen Kletterpassagen folgen, bis man links unterhalb der Linie von Etat de Choc steht. 

 

Zustieg Etat de Choc II (via Vallon d’Arpette de Saleinaz)

Von Praz de Fort der Strasse ins Vallon d’Arpette de Saleinaz folgen, bis die Strasse bei einem Forsthaus endet. Ab hier in ca 2.5h zum Einstieg. 20 Minuten vor dem Einstieg findet man einen tollen Biwakplatz mit Wasser in der Nähe.

Topo Etat de Choc

 

L1 & L2 6b+ Empfehlung: Originaleinstieg über das einfache, logische Gelände nehmen und L1&2 rechts umgehen. Somit kann man Kraft sparen und die beiden Längen sind vergleichsweise weniger lohnend. Vom Zustiegspfad hoch über Schrofen ins Couloir, dann links haltend über leichte Kletterei zu sichtbarem Schlingenstand. Von dort rechts weg und eine ausgezogene Kurve nach links klettern, immer dem einfachsten, logischen Gelände nach bis zum Stand unter der ersten steilen Länge (ca. 5b). 

 

L3 6b+ Erste steile Länge. Ein Bohrhaken an Schlüsselstelle, darunter Cam 2, darüber kleine Cams. 

 

L4 6c Ab hier wird es ernst. Nach links, dann dem breiter werdenden Riss (bis Faust) folgen. Tip: Das Gear (Cams 0.75, 1, 2 und 3) auf rechter Seite anhängen. Die Felswand links blockiert, weil man tief im Riss klemmen muss. Nach dem Riss steckt ein Zwischenhaken. Den Kamin relativ leicht hoch zu Stand an fixen Schlingen (mit Cams nachbesser, zB Cam 4) 

 

L4’ Kurze Seillänge von 10 Metern. Stand an gutem Bohrhaken und Cam 0.5. Diese Länge lässt sich auch mit 50er Seil mit der vorigen verbinden. Im Topo als eine Länge angegeben.

 

L5 7a Schlüssellänge. Bis zum Überhang Cam #1 und kleinere, anschliessend das ganze Gear. Der Überhang sieht schwierig aus, geht nach rechts weg jedoch gut auf. Danach Squeeze-Chimney und die eigentliche Crux, auf Piaz wechseln und den Kamin verlassen. Diese Stelle ist mit einem Bohrhaken gesichert. Hängestand. Tip: Helm abnehmen und das Gear an Schlinge um die Schulter statt an den Gurt.  

 

L6 6c Offwidth oder Piaz (Cam 5 sehr hilfreich) bis No-Hands-Rest unter dem grossartigen Doppelriss. Diesen hoch (Cams 4, dann 3, dann 2) und nach rechts zu Stand. Der Doppelriss gehört zu den Highlights der Tour. Alternativ kann man, anstatt rechts zum Stand zu klettern, links der steilen Rissverschneidung folgen (Cam 3 notwendig, Cam 2-4 möglich) und somit die nächste Länge gleich anhängen. Schwierigkeiten dann ca 7b. 

 

L7 7a Breiten Riss hochpiazen bis Borhaken und weiter aufs Podest (no hands rest). Weiter hoch und über eine Wandkletter-Stelle (7a) nach links. Noch ein paar Meter hoch und Stand im linken Riss (beliebige Kombination Cams 1 - 3 möglich für Standbau). Alternativ rechts hinaus zu Stand von Ave Cäsar. 

 

L8 6b+ Im linken Riss anstrengend hoch (Hand bis Faust). Nach Überhang mit Fix-Schlingen rechts hinaus in leichteres Gelände. Wieder gerade hoch über brüchigen Überhang und dann rechtshaltend zu Stand ca. 15 m unter Gipfel. 

 

L9 Im vierten Grad zum Gipfel

 

Abseilen über Ave Caesar, mit 60 m Seilen besonders speditiv. 

 

Schönheit: *****/*****

Absicherung: -/XXXXX kann überall sehr gut mobil gesichert werden

Exposition: Nord

Material: 50m Doppelseil, 10 Exen, Repschnur- und Schlingenmaterial. Evtl. Pickel für Schneefeldquerung. Keile nicht notwendig. Camalots C4 #0.3 - 5, dabei #0.75 - 4 doppelt. Cam #5 kein Muss, gibt jedoch Komfort, Cam #6 definitiv nicht nötig. Cams #2, 3 und 4 dreifach ist noch mehr Komfort und lassen sich gut unterbringen, doppelt reicht jedoch. 

Generell: Mit Rucksack klettern geht praktisch nicht im engen Kamin. Entweder alles an Gurt hängen oder haulen.

Weitere Highlights am Petit Clocher du Portalet

 

Ave Caesar *****

10SL | 250m | 7c (7a obl)
D. Berthod, F. Mathey, A. Mikolajak 2003

 

Grossartige Tour. Neben Etat de Choc wahrscheinlich die am häufigsten gekletterte Tour in der Nordwand. Die 7b+ Länge weist gleich zu Beginn eine anspruchsvolle Wandkletterstelle (Bolts) auf, gefolgt von toller Risskletterei. Die beiden 7C Längen fragen beide Fingerrisskletterei ab, die letztere mit einer markanten Schlüsselstelle am Ende an Bolts. Man munkelt, dass die Griffe hier besser wurden. Die Schwierigkeiten sind in den Fingerrissen evtl abhängig von der Fingerdicke. 

La guerre des nerfs ****

9SL | 250m | 7b (6c obl)

L. Abbet, F. Roduit 1982

Einstieg vom grossen Band, das man über den Vorbau via einfachem Gelände erreicht oder Ave Caesar. Die Crux besteht aus einer technisch sehr anspruchsvollen 7b-Länge. Das Herzstück der Tour ist die darauf folgende, grossartige Rissverschneidung, welcher man über zwei Seillängen folgt. Hammer! Die Verschneidung ist luftig gebohrt, dazwischen schluckt sie unzählige Cams #4. Diese sind jedoch nicht zwingend notwendig, wenn auch gut für die Nerven.

 

La voie des Cheminées *****

6SL | 200m | 6b+ OW (6b+ obl) 
Erstbegeher unbekannt

Eine Tour für Liebhaber, die wahrscheinlich höchst selten begangen wird! Sie folgt dem Bruchsystem, welches den ganzen Petit Clocher du Portalet durchspaltet. Entlang dieses Systems verläuft auf der Nordseite Etat de Choc, auf der Ostseite La Voie des Cheminées. Diese bombastische Linie ist beim Zustieg durchs Vallon d’Arpette prominent einzusehen. Den Einstieg erreicht man über die erste Länge von Esprit du Clocher. Danach folgt La Voie des Cheminées einem der beiden Off-Width Risse. Der rechte ist etwas einfacher und benötigt Cams bis #5, der linke verlangt Grössen bis #6 und sogar noch etwas grösser, wenn man wirklich sichern will. Die linke Variante ist hinsichtlich Stil und Schwierigkeit mit dem Monster OW am El Capitan im Yosemite vergleichbar, welcher mit 6b+ bewertet ist. Ganz bestimmt kann sich die Länge viel schwerer anfühlen, insbesondere wenn man fehlende Off-Width-Technik mit Kraft zu kompensieren versucht. Alternativ kann man sich auch links die alte Normalhakenleiter hochtechen. Danach klettert man praktisch durchgehend in Kaminen, stellenweise tief im dunklen Berg drin. Knieschoner und Stirnlampe mitnehmen! Die Kaminkletterei ist nie schwer, erfordert jedoch Routenspürsinn. Die Stände sind in der Regel schlecht eingerichtet, unterwegs findet man ab und zu alte Normalhaken, oft kann man zusätzlich mobil sichern, man will jedoch die grossen Cams dabei haben. La Voie des Cheminées endet direkt auf dem Gipfel des Petit Clocher. Abseilen über die Nordwand oder Esprit du Clocher. Eine einzigartige, abenteuerliche Tour und absolutes Highlight für Liebhaber alpiner Kamine, ein Alptraum für viele andere.

 
Le Chic, le Chèque et le Choc ****

7SL | 230m | 6c (6a+ obl) 

C. & Y. Rémy, 1986

Wahrscheinlich die lohnendste Tour in der Südostwand. Toller Fels und grossartige Kletterei entlang eines Riss- und Verschneidungssystems mit einigen Plattenstellen. Die Tour ist beliebt und wird oft geklettert. Und dies zu Recht, bietet sie wirklich grossartige Kletterei. Wenn man sich die Mühe macht an den Petit Clocher zu gehen, sollte man jedoch mindestens eine Tour an der Nordwand (Etat de Choc) klettern. Chic Chèque Choc ist dann die ideale Tour für den Abstiegstag.

Möchtest du am Petit Clocher du Portalet eine Klettertour unternehmen? Frage hier für einen privaten Termin mit Bergführer an oder abonniere unsere Tourenmail und erfahre, wann wir eine Klettertour anbieten.

   

jetzt

Tourenmail 

abonnieren

   

Das könnte dich auch interessieren: 

Teufelstalwand | Salbit Westgrat | Wendenstöcke

Schlüsselwörter: Petit Clocher du Portalet, Etat de Choc, Klettern, Rissklettern, Claenklettern, Topo, Bergführer, Mountain Guide

      

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon