FREERIDE

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Freeride Andermatt, Freetouring

short climbs, lonely descents

 

 

It has finally snowed, the weather forecasts report blue skies, the freeriders run to the Gemsstock. Everyone wants to catch the first gondola, everyone wants to draw the first track onto the untouched slopes. Standing in line, crowding, pushing... Once on the Gemsstock everbody storms off the gondola and they come down the glacier slope like an avalanche, drawing wide and fast turns into the fresh and airy snow, cheering and yelling. First the glacier, then the Ober Geissberg, Unter Geissberg, later the Felsental, Giraffe etc. It usually does not take long for the well-known descents of Freeride Andermatt to be tracked, even if the area does not yet get as many visitors as Engelberg. Everything was still untouched just a few hours ago, some might sigh.

Every freerider wants untracked, airy powder. This can still be found a few days after snowfall. Anyone who is ready to put on the skins on and walk a little shakes off the masses and reaches hidden corners with untouched slopes. Freetouring is the modern technical term and Andermatt can also deliver in this discipline. In this context, also note the article about the perfect ski tour .

Andermatt is an Eldorado for freetouring and convinces with numerous possibilities. The classic is the Guspis. To ride it, you go south from the Gemsstock and after a few turns traverse right towards the Gafallenlücke, which you can reach with a short ascent. Many even walk up without skins, with their skis on their shoulders. From the Gafallenlücke, the freerider has access to a huge, small chambers that lead to the Gotthardpassstrasse. The classic, often undertaken descent through the Guspis follows the direct descent down to Gotthardstrasse and follows it to Hospental. From here a ski bus or train goes back to Andermatt.

When riding the Guspis, the attentive freerider immediately sees the impressive couloirs on the Blauberg, which fall uncompromisingly and directly into the Guspis. What lines! The most popular and most impressive line is the central couloir. Unfortunately - or luckily - you can't get there for free. You climb via Sunnig Lücke and over the southern flank / ridge (easy climbing) to the highest point of the Blauberg and further down into the gap between points 2729 and 2705. The ascent, the start and descent are alpine and require appropriate knowledge and equipment.

Andermatt Freeride: Giraffe in fluffy powder

Freetouring Andermatt: One of those days...

The possibilities for freetouring around Rothorn, Rotstock, Pizzo Centrale & Co are many. The Glockentürmli, for example, often has good snow conditions on the north side and also offers an interesting descent directly down to Gothardpassstrasse on the south side. Very rewarding slopes or couloirs can also be reached from the Rothorn, which can be reached in less than half an hour from the Gafallenlücke. The descent from the Rothorn towards Gitziälpetli combined with a short climb to the Guspislücke is another gem. If you want, you can reach the Rotstock from here, which again has impressive, steep couloirs. For those who just want to enjoy gentle terrain, on the other hand, the beautiful slopes from the Guspislücke directly down to the Hinter Loch are recommended .

 

By the way: in the Urseren Valley you can not only do great freeriding, you can also do fantastic climbing, for example on the nearby Teufelstalwand , on the Gross Bielenhorn, Gross Furkahorn or Gletschhorn, to name just a few.

Andermatt Freeride: Giraffe in fluffy powder

Freetouring Andermatt: First Lines hinunter zum Gitziälpetli

Be careful, many of the descents described here are very steep and are riddeen less frequently than the fashion descents on the Gemsstock, which is why the snow cover here is often weaker. A correct assessment of the avalanche situation is essential before each trip. We recommend a mountain guide.

Freetouring Andermatt: Blauberg, Zentralcouloir (Youtube Channel Basecamp Andermatt)

Book Freeride Andermatt

 

Do you want to freeride with a local guide? To book us, you have 2 Options.

Option 1 | Book mybergtour group

Subscribe to our Tour Mail. Whenever ideal conditions come up, we will post open freeride groups on mybergtour.ch. You will be informed by email and can register online.

 

Your advantages: You will be offered freeride exactly when the conditions are ideal and you can decide at short notice.

 

Costs from CHF 179.- per person & day

Max. 6-7 people

 

 

Option 2 | Book privately

Here you are the boss. You determine both the date and the course of your day. We are looking for a guide for you and soon you can start.

 

Your advantages: You can choose the date and ride with your friends.

 

Costs from CHF 650.- per day

   

 

 

 

 

You might also be interested in:  

Freeride Engelberg | Titlis tour

 

Keywords: freeride Andermatt, Gemsstock, freetouring, local mountain guide

 

        

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon

MYBERGTOUR'S FINEST

Foto Speedy Füllemann

Freeride Andermatt, Freetouring

kurze Aufstiege, einsame Abfahrten

 

 

Endlich hat es geschneit, die Wetterfrösche melden blauen Himmel, die Freerider rennen zum Gemsstock. Alle wollen die erste Bahn erwischen, alle wollen die erste Spur in die unberührten Hänge ziehen. Schlange stehen, Gedränge, leichtes Geschubse. Auf dem Gemsstock angekommen stürmt alles aus der Bahn und wie eine Lawine kommen sie die Gletscherpiste hinuntergeschosssen, ziehen weite Bögen in den unverfahrenen Pulverschnee, jauchzend und johlend. Erst der Gletscher, dann der Ober Geissberg, Unter Geissberg, später das Felsental, Giraffe usw. Es dauert in der Regel nicht lange, bis die allgemein bekannten Abfahrten von Freeride Andermatt verfahren sind, auch wenn das Gebiet noch nicht so viel Besuch kriegt wie Engelberg. Soeben war doch noch alles unberührt, seufzt mancher. 

Jeder Freerider wünscht sich unverspurten, luftigen Schnee. Diesen findet man auch einige Tage nach Schneefällen noch. Wer bereit ist die Felle aufzuziehen und aufzusteigen, schüttelt schnell die Massen ab und erreicht versteckte Ecken mit unberührten Hängen. Freetouring heisst der moderne Fachbegriff. Beachte in diesem Zusammenhang auch den Artikel über die perfekte Skitour

Andermatt ist ebenfalls ein Eldorado für Freetouring und überzeugt auch in dieser Disziplin mit zahlreichen Möglichkeiten. Die klassische unter ihnen ist das Guspis. Hierzu fährt man vom Gemsstock in Richtung Süden ab und traversiert nach wenigen Schwüngen rechts in Richtung Gafallenlücke, welche man mit einem kurzen Aufstieg erreicht. Viele bringen diesen sogar ohne Felle, mit den Ski auf den Schultern, hinter sich. Von der Gafallenlücke aus eröffnet sich dem Freerider eine riesige, kleinräumig gegliederte Geländekammer, welche zur Gotthardpassstrasse führt. Die klassische, oft unternommene Abfahrt durch das Guspis folgt dem direkten Gefälle hinunter zur Gotthardstrasse und folgt dieser bis nach Hospental. Ab hier fährt ein Skibus oder Zug zurück nach Andermatt.

Bei der Fahrt durch das Guspis stechen dem aufmerksamen Freerider sofort die eindrücklichen Couloirs am Blauberg ins Auge, welche kompromisslos und direkt ins Guspis abfallen. Was für Linien! Am häufigsten befahren wird das Zentralcouloir, die eindrücklichste Linie hier. Ganz gratis erreicht man dieses leider - oder zum Glück - nicht. Man steigt via Sunnig Lücke und über die Südflanke/Grat (einfache Kletterstellen) zum höchsten Punkt des Blaubergs und weiter hinunter in die Lücke zwischen Punkt 2729 und 2705. Der Aufstieg, die Ein- und Abfahrt sind alpin und erfordern entsprechende Kenntnisse und Ausrüstung. 

Freetouring Andermatt: One of those days...

Die Möglichkeiten für Freetouring rund um Rothorn, Rotstock, Pizzo Centrale & Co sind vielseitig. Das Glockentürmli zum Beispiel wartet nordseitig oft mit guten Schneeverhältnissen auf und bietet auch südseitig eine interessante Abfahrt direkt hinunter zur Gothardpassstrasse an. Sehr lohnende Hänge oder Rinnen erreicht man auch vom Rothorn aus, welches man von der Gafallenlücke her in einer knappen halben Stunde erreicht. Die Abfahrt vom Rothorn in Richtung Gitziälpetli verbunden mit einem kurzen Aufstieg zur Guspislücke ist ein weiteres Juwel. Wer will, erreicht von hier den Rotstock, welcher erneut mit eindrücklichen, steilen Rinnen aufwartet. Für den Geniesser hingegen empfehlen sich die wunderschönen Hängen von der Guspislücke direkt hinunter zum hinteren Loch.

Übrigens: im Urserental kann man nicht nur grossartig Freeriden, sondern auch richtig gut klettern, zB an der nahen Teufelstalwand, am Gross Bielenhorn, Gross Furkahorn oder Gletschhorn, um nur einige zu nennen.

Freetouring Andermatt: First Lines hinunter zum Gitziälpetli

Vorsicht, viele der hier beschrieben Touren sind sehr steil und werden deutlich weniger befahren als die Modeabfahrten am Gemsstock, weswegen der Schneedeckenaufbau hier oft schwächer ist. Eine korrekte Beurteilung der Lawinensituation ist vor jeder Befahrung unabdingbar. Wir empfehlen einen Bergführer.

Freetouring Andermatt: Blauberg, Zentralcouloir (Youtube Channel Basecamp Andermatt)

Stimmen die Verhältnissen, gehört Andermatt definitiv zu unseren bevorzugten Pulverschneedestinationen. Abonniere unsere Tourenmail und erfahre, wann unser Guide "Freetouring Andermatt" anbietet, oder frage hier für eine private Gruppe an.

Weitere Rides am Gemsstock

   

       

Das könnte dich auch interessieren:  

Freeride EngelbergTitlis Rundtour 

Stichwörter:Freeride Andermatt, Gemsstock, Freetouring, Bergführer, Mountain Guide

 

       

mybergtour  |  Jacob Burckhardt Str. 20 | Basel | Schweiz

hallo@mybergtour.ch  |  +41 79 537 97 77  |  Kontaktformular

Impressum  |  Datenschutz  |  AGB

La Sportiva_logo_application1 (1).png
AlpineTech_trsparent.png
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz Instagram Icon